I have a son who is a level 10 gymnast. This has taken many years of working out 5-6 days a week for at least 4 hours a day. Learning how to stretch and contort his body in ways that on occasion hurts for me to watch. He does this because he loves it, he has loved it from the beginning and I drive him where he needs to be, encourage his growth and let him choose his path. I know he has hopes of college scholarships which are hard to come by and he hopes to help coach in the future. The hours and hours I’ve spent in the car supporting his dedication are worth it, I love being a part of his dream.

And this is where my 3 paragraph rant used to be about parents who don’t show up or bring the grandparents, uncles, aunts or cousins to the 1 local competition a year. Now it’s one sentence.

My brother and his awesome family drove 2.5 hours to come watch him compete this weekend and it meant so much to me and my son! I am so grateful for family! Of course now their 3 young children are bouncing and rolling around their house lol and thus begins the next generation of gymnasts.

 

 

Leave a Reply

