I love when a good menu week works out! I made a crockpot pork roast on Monday, I cook it on high with 20 oz of coke, chili powder,  9 oz taco sauce some garlic and other spices all day. Then I shred it with more spices and tomatillo sauce and serve it with what my kids call green rice and make it into tacos or burrito bowls.

I buy the pork roast from Costco so it makes quite a bit of meat. Last night I made some of the leftovers into green enchiladas. I looked at the cans of enchilada sauce on the shelf, but I thought I could probably make my own and I am so glad I did!

One of ingredients I couldn’t find was a yellow pepper so I substituted 2 habanero peppers which made it pretty spicy. Luckily my family loves a little kick in everything we eat! The kids loved these so much the last one even went in my daughters lunch box today!

Try this recipe I found online. It calls for only 6 tortillas in a 9×13 pan, I used more like 12. I’m not sure if that was me putting too little pork in each corn tortilla or a mistake on the website. But I think 12 was about right to fill the pan.

I like to make a Salsa Verde Sauce when I make the pork tacos, and we had some leftover to put on top of the enchiladas after they were done baking. It’s also good on salads and pretty much any vegetable.

1/2 cup salsa verde

1/2 Tbsp lime or 1/2 fresh squeezed lime

1/2 milk

1/2 mayo

1/2 cup sour cream

1 pkg ranch mix

1 cup cilantro, fresh loosely packed leaves

5 stalks green onions

garlic to taste

1/2 tsp salt

blend and chill

Leave a Reply

